Sloe Gin in the Courtyard

Holidaying in Hampshire, a farm in the countryside outside Winchester to be precise. We are staying in a converted stable with the door opening out to the courtyard. Opposite is a greenhouse with nectarines, red and green grapes and tomatoes.

Had quite a lazy day after our long drive from Scotland and went into Winchester to look at the cathedral and also visited the farmer's market that was on. Breagha struck it lucky when the man cooking buffalo burgers asked me if she would like one:-). We ate a couple ourselves and they were amazing.

Later, back at the farm, we went for a walk along one of the bridle paths. The hedgerows were full of brambles and there were also little black berries that I sampled, well, had a lick of. When we got back, I asked Brenda the owner of the farm what she thought they were, as I took a sample and a leaf from the bush. She said they were sloe berries and we talked about how sloe gin was made. Then she asked why I was holding a laurel leaf. "That's what the berries were attached to" I said. "Oh well, you were eating laurel berries she says"! Looked up the internet and it seems they are poisonous!! Luckily I didn't actually eat one, just licked the inside! How stupid was I?? And me a country girl too.

Off to Bath tomorrow - hope the weather is as good as today!

Here is a picture of the little table ourside our accommodation. You will see a bottle of sloe gin - our lovely landlady Brenda brought us a home made bottle of sloe gin to drink - Mmmmmmmmmm it was lovely:-) Hic. .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.