Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Density

I thought that this was an interesting view of the houses, backing onto the river. With a population density of 16,500 per square kilometer, not an inch of space is wasted. Indonesians are resourceful and imaginative builders. A 60 degree incline is not going to deter the opportunistic mind from constructing his shack and farming the land. A lasting memory of this country will always be the farmed mountain terraces, a subject for a future blip.

What surprises me is the extent of green captured in this urban landscape. In fact, the entire city is largely tree infested, which I find intriguing, given the populations rather indifferent attitude towards nature and its preservation. I feel my writing is getting a tad negative. Maybe I have been in the city too long and it would do me good to escape to the Kampung for a few days, suck in some fresh oxygen to revitalize the grey matter. I could blip some chickens and rice paddies.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.