A load of Bull :-)

By EdieBeth

The Old Post Office, Tintagel. We had to pay a visit here as I lived in an old post office as a child. Not quite this old, but old enough to have a few resident ghosts. I never saw these but my siblings did on various occasions. I wouldn't have minded really as they were pretty friendly spirits - if a little sad. One Victorian lady ( after a visit by psychic investigators) could not 'pass over' as she had had a still born child and was still searching for him. So she was informed that her child had already passed over and believe what you will - but my brothers never saw her again. I keep an open mind about these things!

But back to the post office. No technology in those days. Just a basic calculator and a Dad who was a genius with numbers. It would take me a lot longer serving customers if he asked me to cover! I remember the smell of melting sealing wax which he used to close important documents and then use the brass PO stamp for the imprint. Seems so antiquated to say this was only 30 years ago. He'd be busy in the PO while Mum looked after the shop side - a proper corner shop with old fashioned scales and bacon slicer - and beef dripping (yeuch). How I hated making 'mucky dripping' sandwiches for the truckers who came especially for these! We would come in from school and take over in the shop so Mum could start on the chores and making tea. Once tea was done off she would go to work a nightshift as a nurse at the local hospital. I still don't know to this day when she actually slept. But at 71 now she still has more energy than I'll ever have!

This wasn't supposed to be such a long trip down memory lane - but it's nice when a place like this brings them all flooding back. Your head gets filled with so much stuff in our busy lives that sometimes memories like these get forgotten. And it is so important to remember happy times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.