Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Wildwood Chronicles

It's (almost) always exciting to receive a parcel in the post but imagine my surprise when I opened a package from Portland, Oregon this morning.

It was sent to me by my Portland pal and fellow blipper Heaven Under Feet aka BeautifulLife (to whom many, many thanks are due!) and it contained a book I've been longing for but which isn't due to be published in the UK for a few months yet.

'Wildwood' is a children's book written by one of my favourite people on earth, Colin Meloy - singer, songwriter and guitarist with my favourite band, Portland's very own Decemberists - and illustrated by Carson Ellis who is married to Meloy and has done all the Decemberists' artwork from the get-go (about a decade ago) as well as illustrating many fine children's books including those by Lemony Snicket. 'Wildwood' is soon to be made into an animated film by the people at Laika who recently made the film of Neil Gaiman's 'Coraline'.

Check out The Decemberists' website to see the excellent new video for 'Calamity Song' which was inspired by David Foster Wallace's novel 'Infinite Jest'.

The book is a thing of beauty and I can't wait to start reading it so, if you'll excuse me for a moment or two...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.