CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Anyone for the underworld?

This morning I led a two hour meeting about Lansdown Hall with the Town Council Working Group, who are involved with its regeneration as a community venue, much like a village hall would be if we were a village.  

This afternoon we had invited a senior member of a Grant Trust, who we hope to approach for extra funds to help in our big project to improve the facilities and repair the fabric of the stone building, built originally as a temperance church.  Where we can, we also want to introduce various sensible eco solutions, which the weekend's festival  had demonstrated to me.

I followed around taking a few pictures of key elements which I will add to the photographic records.  At one point the architect showed the doorway leading down to the under-floor cupboard, which seemed to absorb everyone's interest.  I had a sudden memory of Orpheus being led by Eurydice down a similar pathway, in Jean Cocteau's wonderful black and white film he called Orphée, which is still a favourite of mine.

I have to go back to a Full Council meeting this evening where one of the agenda items is to inform all the other councillors about what work is being envisaged for Lansdown Hall, amongst many other issues.  I doubt if I will be home before 10-30pm again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.