stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

BDblip - Star Wars

A no-brainer on this wild'n'wet day (although my two Lightroom tomes which arrived today also were a close second)!

For me I will always watch Star Wars with the wide-eyed wonder of that child that stood queued around the Odeon cinema families wide in Glasgow on that summers day in 1978. Love it or hate it, for many people of my generation the original film (and the subsequent sequals) were a defining moment in their cinematic life.

Do I think the prequals did the same for this generation? No. By the time they were made they were just another franchise add-on but for better or for worse the original trilogy (especially Star Wars) changed the way people watched movies forever. Not only did it create the blockbuster franchise and the marketing "circus" that goes along with it but George Lucas and many of the people associated with this went on to be leading exponents in the film industry and a number of cutting edge processes, techniques and technologies were developed as a result.

I must admit that I am a purist and to a large degree dislike the tinkering that has gone into the original films. Using modern technolgies to clean up picture and sound is fine but to add and change the film itself, for me detracts from the films and the essence what made me the cinefile I am today. Rumours abound with the possibility that more tweaking has gone on for this blu ray edition. We'll see.

That said, I'm not going to turn down the opportunity to snap it up in the new format and be the techno whore cash cow that Lucas and 20th Century Fox expect me to be. What a Mug!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.