The Wind

The remnants of Hurricane Katia swept up the coast today, bringing us extremely blustery conditions outside. I awoke to the kazoo-like hum of the wind breezing past the draughtier corners of our house, and scurried off to the river, where the estuary was funnelling the gales right into the heart of town. Right here, on the riverbank, the grass had been flattened down to the ground by the wind and spray from the water, like hair slicked back over someone's head.

So for today, I'll leave you with Cat Stevens, or Yusuf Islam if you prefer. (Personally, I think he should refer to himself as Cat Islam, not least because it conjures an amazing image of a feline in robes meowing "peace be upon you".)


I listen to the wind
To the wind of my soul
Where I'll end up, well I think
Only God really knows
I've sat upon the setting sun
But never, never never never
I never wanted water once
No, never, never, never

I listen to my words but
They fall far below
I let my music take me where
My heart wants to go
I swam upon the devil's lake
But never, never never never
I'll never make the same mistake
No, never, never, never

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.