While on my runs

By waipushrink

Early breakfast with conversation

Whether as a result of all the positive and sympathetic messages I have received (and again thanks to everyone), or basic healthiness, or stupidity in thinking that because I was not as bad as yesterday it was time to do so, I went out this morning for a walk. Sensibly chose to not run at all, and managed well enough; no strain.

Along Ponsonby Road I saw lots of these wee England flags. I was told last week that the Ponsonby Business Association is supporting England. Grey Lynn has both Tonga and Samoa flags, in different parts. What their support (as shown by showing the flag) actually means I confess I have not found out; perhaps England fans get a discount if they enter a cafe or a shop on Ponsonby Road.

This is another cafe on the cafe and restaurant strip. Although Landreth & Co has one of the smaller street frontages, it is often one of the more actively patronised early morning cafes. Most of the inside tables were occupied this morning; one person can be seen behind the Hours sign, while another is ordering coffee or breakfast or both.

The strength of recent winds can be seen from the tattered appearance of the flags. A nice touch by the cafe is the water bowl for visiting dogs.

Good to be out and about; fortunately a light day at work, as I am now tired. May do only a little looking and commenting tonight, while S is at her book club. I'm missing mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.