Anniversary

It was a sweltering september day 2010 when battle did commence. The wasps were many and wild with the fermented fruit, i alone but fearless with wine.

The hours passed with thrust and parry, duck and faint. By mid day onlookers would feel the wasps had the upperhand as they swooped down to buzz my ears and attempted the perilous ascent of my nostril only to be foiled by age related nose hair. I struck back with hairspray and rolled newspaper - they could not withstand the assault and fell back to their lines.
It was a close run thing but i left the field of battle victorious.

Many escaped but this fellow took a sabre cut across his middle and lies as he lay then - alas.

So on this austere anniversary i salute my dead foe and pay my respects to their courage and tenacity.

a tribute to all insects

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.