Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

It's a mystery!

It's a mystery sang Toyah in the 80s and this was a mystery today! Working from home today so I've been super productive! No seriously I have! I switched off email and the mobile phone was super quiet, so I put some music on and just got on with it.

Lunchtime I headed down to Neath to pick a couple of things up. My goodness was it busy, never seen so many youngsters in the town centre, the students from the college had wandered across for their lunch. So for the blip today I thought I'd blip a photo of one of the old buildings in the town. There are plenty of interesting buildings in Neath, with loads of history. There's the Market, the Gwyn Hall, the Castle of course but it was this building which caught my interest today.

Oh Blipfoto what have you done? In all the years I've wandered around Neath never once have I even taken a second glance at this building, but today this second glance created a mystery which needed to be solved. No windows, one big door, the Cyclops eye, what's the crack with the erected A.L.5848 and A.D.1848? What could this mysterious building be? Ask the family; ask some friends nobody seemed to know. So I thought this Blip was going to be a plea for help, but good old Google came to the rescue and the mystery was solved.

Ladies and Gentlemen I give you the Neath Masonic Temple! The erected stuff at the top shows that the building was erected in 1848, the A.L.5848 stands for Anno Lucis which, apparently, is used on most Masonic buildings etc. It is the calendar that an Irish Cleric James Ussher devised. What does the eye mean though?

Thanks to Geograph.Co.Uk!

So thanks Blipfoto I now look out for everything and investigate everything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.