Emma Kathryn Luther

By luther

Life

Today really made me think about the fact we never know how long any of us have on this earth.

A lovely, brave girl who wrote a column for my newspaper and posted a daily blog on her battle with cancer lost her fight at 19-years-old and died yesterday. I'd followed her ups and downs as she showed courage, spirit and humour until the end and I felt so moved by the outpouring of grief at her passing today. Rosie's website if you want to find out more about her life.

It reminded me of losing my mum to the disease and I found it pulled very deeply at my heartstrings. It made me miss my ex-boyfriend, I just wanted to talk to him about it all and for him to cuddle me like he used to.

Still if there was one powerful message Rosie wanted people to take from her fight it was the importance of living. Really being in the moment and soaking up every second of the magic of being here. The grief, missing someone and loneliness comes with that experience but overriding it all is the wonder and love of simply being alive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.