WfZ PHLOGS

By wellsforzoe

Apples

Malawi imports its apples from Zambia, Zimbabwe and South Africa. Two years ago I got apple rootstock and scions from Irish Seedsavers, and we had our first crop of apples in December last. Local Malawians believe it was a miracle.
At the moment we have 650 rootstock growing on the farm ready to be grafted.
This evening Fiona brought me out to see her uncles farm in Swords, where I saw more apples that I could imagine, acres of them bending the branches. They were all shapes, sizes, colours and varieties. The pic shows 5 varieties.
He brought us for miles on the grand tour, where I got to taste everything, researching what might do well in Mzuzu.
With his help we will bring out scions in October in an effort to increase our orchard, and later to be able to give seedlings away to local farmers.What an amazing man Sean is?
I also got to meet Fiona's, who is also a legend, but he's from Mayo!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.