thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Family photo album

I'm one of those fuddy-duddy traditionalists that still likes to have a family album.

The current volume is up to date to about a year ago, but I kept four pages blank for pictures from son J's adventures in China last year. He was in Sichuan province helping university students with their English.

I've finally managed with his help to assemble a decent set of his pictures for the album that show where he was, what he did, and the sights he saw. One of the highlights was the peak of Emeishan mountain, one of the mountains most sacred to Buddhists, which he climbed overnight with friends to be there at dawn. At the peak are four golden Buddhas supported by four golden elephants, facing in all directions, towering above the clouds. Another picture shows two Tibetan Buddhist ladies praying and studying sacred books.

From what he's told me all my preconceived ideas about China were wrong and, at the same time, right. I'd love to go sometime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.