Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Riding the Rails

The sun peeps over the mountains on our train journey from Sacramento to Portland.

Despite being worried about its sixteen hour length I really enjoyed the trip. We woke up, dazed and confused at 5am, shook gently awake by the near-freezing temperature in our carriage. We quietly unpacked some extra clothes, but from then on out I didn't want to sleep.
Despite the pitch darkness outside, the occaisional flicker of lights below told me we were high up on the edge of a cliff, and I sat for hours, mesmerised by the train's spotlight cutting through the blackness as we wound along the mountainside. As dawn began to break things only got better, as cold grey light was slowly replaced by a warm orange glow. Soon the stunning secenery outside was bathed in sunlight, a never ending slideshow of beautiful landsacpes.

Unlike cars, buses and planes, I love to travel by train.
The amtrak did not let me down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.