Music Box

The Day of The Woman.

Or more commonly known as; I Spit On Your Grave. I like the original title better.

Saw the remake of this recently. Going to watch the original tonight.

The remake was one of my most uncomfortable movie watching experiences. I'd say only the video shown to the parents in Lady Vengeance coming close as being so upsetting as to make me turn away from the screen.

So why do I watch stuff like this? Well, for starters I watch it sparingly. Secondly, being a philosophical, pretentious kant I reckon there can actually be merit in this and by portraying certain characters and character traits outwit the normally spoon-fed format and stereotypes of our culture we start to break free from those restrictions.

That and I love revenge done well....

I hate gratuitous violence, gore and torture and I don't think this film is that. It's pretty damn sophisticated if you think about it, there are so many aspects not least the way the rapists are focussed on and not the helpless woman where-by the viewer is assuming the role of the victim not the (voyeuristic) attacker which is or at least was a pretty original take on the perspective.

You'll probably be best to just take my word for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.