The Quiraing

The weather improved significantly today so we headed to Skye. Jen and Pete wanted to see the Sea Eagles so we dropped them in Portree to sign up for a trip and drove north, past the Old Man of Storr which we have climbed several times, to The Quiraing which we haven't walked on. It's an amazing place on the approach. The guide book describe it as a 'fantastic maze of rock pinnacles and buttresses' near the end of the long Trotternish peninsula on the slopes of Meall na Suiramach. I took over a hundred photos but Tony and I agreed on this one. Becks went for a run from the carpark and then caught us up along the trail and she and Tony climbed up past The Needle to The Bowling Green in the heart of the Quiraing whilst I ambled back along the trail taking photos

A smashing day finished off with meeting up with Jen and Pete who had seen three sea eagles, one adult and three chicks. We had late lunch in the Aros centre before returning to the cottage.

The sunset was super tonight but by the time I had put on my wellies and run across the soggy fields to the shoreline, it had dipped behind the Cuillin ridge on Skye and was gone. I'll have to be better organised next time!

I think you must look at this in LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.