Train journey

Steve had to go into London today to get his passport renewed (it ran out last year!) in preparation for his trip to Korea next month. We decided to come with him! Ben loved the train journey so much that throughout the afternoon (lunch at Pizza Express and then me getting my hair cut and then a quick trip to a cafe for cake and a drink) he was asking to go to the train again. There and back again during off-peak hours, and all missions completed!

I think it's brilliant that we can go on a train journey into the capital as a family without nappies or a potty, and only an emergency change of pants and trousers for Ben (neither of which got used or were really expected to be needed), and not feel at all nervous! Nor did we take the buggy, just the wrap again in case of emergency but as it turned out Ben was more than happy to swing between the two of us, or ride on Daddy's shoulders squealing all the time as Daddy pretended to drop him ;0)

My haircut wasn't as great as last time though and I think I'm going to have to get someone to sort the back out as it's not what I want at all. I thought it was supposed to be easy for stylists to keep a good haircut looking good! The girl I got last time wasn't there though :0( that'll teach me to not book in advance and just hope she might be there for a walk-in appointment. I think I know what her name was so if I book there again I'll book in advance and ask for her by name...

Ben has been a monkey verbally today. This morning he got up with his daddy and as they walked out of the bedroom he announced "I don't like mummy. Only daddy." Which was a bit pfft as he'd just spent what felt like three hours nursing and cuddling with me. We were friends later but he has really loved having daddy around all day! He made daddy explain why we were going into London though, many times. And nearly every time after being told it was for a passport so daddy could go on a plane to Korea to make somebody's home cinema sound fabulous but he'd be away for a week, Ben announced that he'd miss daddy. He really will miss his daddy. He's grown really close to him over the past few months, noticeably so, and gets in a grump if he doesn't see enough of him. But Grandma and Grandad will be around while Daddy is away so at least he'll have people to play with other than me!

He's been playing imagination games this evening. We've had birds riding on his bike, first there was baby bird, and baby bird got hurt so it needed a cuddle. Then while I was cuddling baby bird, Ben found daddy bird so baby bird wasn't upset any more. Then mummy bird came along! And Ben kept going off on his bike "to work" to get food for the birds. And he'd play his drums and the birds would dance, but only while there was music. And it was evident that he was getting more and more tired because he was falling off his bike, wobbling on his feet, making less and less sense... eventually I gave in and asked if he was tired. He said yes and that he needed to get his pyjamas on! So that was that. Pyjamas on, teeth cleaned (hurrah! we've been terribly lax on that for a few weeks now) and into bed, and asleep before very long. I love it when he is tired and ready to go to bed and knows it and is happy to get ready and into bed without a fuss.

My turn next :0) Bed soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.