Break of Day

By sunnylife

By Lake's Edge

I only just made it to Lake Elphinstone before dark. My original intention was to stay tonight at the coastal town of Bowen, Q'ld, but after I had driven to the beaches and lookouts I was feeling uncomfortably hot in the sun. The crowded caravan parks didn't look inviting and it was still only lunchtime so I decided to head off inland.

A long afternoon drive through very dry country on straight and empty roads, save for a few workers SUVs. Coal mining companies have taken over this area and are madly extracting the black stuff. I passed a very, very long train of coal filled trailers.

Getting on for 6pm, this large lake looked inviting and a good place to camp. I saw several different birds on the water. Of course they quickly scattered when I got too close with the camera so none appeared in the blip. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.