Reikes small life...

By Reike

My first real alpine tour

What shall I say, I survived.
We walked up the night before from the lake you see down there and stayed in a hut. Getting up at 5am in the morning to get through hugh stone slabs up to the start of the very very steep glacier, from where we walked up the glacier to one of the mountain tops.

First of all, it was a very scary experience. I hated when the glacier went "poing" underneath me. The explanation the glacier is just relaxing didn't feel too relaxing to me. Walking across very deep crevasses didn't add too much to that as well. Also the part when the front man lost his step and started pulling me down at a steep part wasn't much fun.
Apart from that I got supergreat views, a lot of sun, spent the day with lovely people, overall a breath-taking experience.
Maybe it will stay a once-in-a-lifetime experience for me. I will see what my tummy feeling says the next time someone wants to drag me along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.