TrishaR

By TrishaR

Meeting Margaret

In 2007 my husband and I, in true "Who do you think You Are" fashion, researched my family history. Many skeletons were unearthed! I always thought that my maternal grandmother had died long before my mum got married as underher name on my mum's marriage certificate was "deceased". But no, she didn't die until the age of 96 in 1998, and we found that my mum had 2 half brothers and 2 half sisters! More delving and we found one of the brothers, Lesley, in Glasgow and visited him in 2008. We then found Margaret, the youngest sister, who lives in Bournemouth. Today, we met up with her in Lymington, a beautiful town situated on the Solent, and we met at The Ship in at 1pm, sitting outside in the lovely September sunshine and talked and talked . . . . .

We had a fantastic afternoon and Margaret seemed so pleased to meet us. She has asked us to stay with her in Bournemouth, but as she is not too keen on dogs, and we own the Queen of Dogs, we won't stay, but we will meet her again. Thank you Margaret for a lovely few hours and also for the presents you so kindly gave us.

I wrote a long rambling 1st attempt at this, then the dam broadband lost it all - fingers crossed this shortened version is ok

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.