Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Got my Bearings

I woke up this morning feeling no side effects of the previous three days of cempedak blips, but with no idea what to blip today. I do have emergency blips planned, which involve leaving the house, such as revisiting the fruit market, Jeans street, Braga street, a few impressive buildings and a few other blips. But I felt a bit lethargic and unadventurous today, so I mounted my flip-flops and ventured down to my workshop to see what I could find.

I found quite a few interesting blip ideas, one of which was this stack of bearings. This blip had crossed my mind a week or so ago and I thought it might make a good depth of field exercise, using the thirds rule to focus on one bearing and throwing the rest out of focus. I still might do this one another time, but I thought it would be much more of a feat to actually get all the bearings in focus, so this became my challenge for the day.

I used to be quite apprehensive about bearings, thinking that they required fine tolerance holes and mega accurate positioning and would have no practical application in woodwork, my main pastime. But the day arrived when I really needed a bearing in a build and so I tried it. I was surprised at how easy it was and how well it worked, so now my fear of bearings is well and truly gone and everything I build with moving parts gets bearings fitted. Consequently, I have a generous stack of spares ready to go.

Since starting blipping, I have become more critical of my photographs and discovered some out of place specs of color, mostly red, a few white and purple. On investigation it turns out that my camera CCD has quite a few dead pixels. Further investigations revealed that some of these have been present since the camera was new, but the CCD is starting to deteriorate. So for special photographs, I am having to do a few PS stamp operations, which is a real pain. I did a Google yesterday and it seems to be a common problem with the Olympus E10. So disappointing.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.