A Dog's Dinner

By G

Fishy Tails

While wandering around the harbour today, as one does, I got into conversation with a skipper of a prawn boat. It was really fascinating. He was telling my how the license system works, how you sell them and how the price varies.

For instance he gets a higher price in winter not only because there are less people fishing but the quality is higher. Yet I always associate them with the summer. A license holder can fish almost anywhere, so a fisherman in Cornwall could in theory fish in Northern Scotland.

Most amazingly his price falls after any terrorist incident, people eat out less and travel less, so there's lots of expensive fish available on the market.

Now that sounds a bit fishy to me, but I can see the sense in it too.

Who would have thought it?


*For our US chums read 'shrimp' for 'prawns'*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.