8:30

By eightthirty

all I need

8:30 am and out for a run.

Four years ago this weekend, I was off to take part in a 10k. It was going to be my second ever race. And I'd been training fairly hard for it.

Fast forward to now and I am doing well to run once a week. Which is a mixture of time, impetus and energy.

I was pretty useless at PE when at school (no sympathy required). Then six years ago, something clicked. A good friend dragged me out with him for a few miles over lunchtimes and I got back on my bike.

But this morning, the first song that Nike Plus played for me to run to was Kevin Prosch's All I Need.

Near the end if my time at school, intact before I went to college, I went abroad for the first time. To the south of France with Neil, his Mum and Uncle. Near the end of the time away, I started to go out for a run. No idea what I was doing, but I enjoyed the time listening to my yellow, waterproof Sony Walkman.

The tape I ran to? That would be the live album, Kiss the Son. Including "All I Need".

So it was nice to go back 15 years and remember those first forays.

To think of how much if different from those days. Of how much I have changed. Of how grateful I am.

I was also struck of the truth of those lyrics.

"You are all we need to get by,
You are all we need to get high"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.