Claire_xx_

By Clairexx

Mini Great North Run 2011

Today was the day Eleanor and Jessica had been waiting for... The Mini Great North Run! Today was the day I could have done without seeing as I woke up slightly hungover and remembered I had to run it with them!

They have been fundraising for weeks (read that as I have been pestering people on Twitter and Facebook) and having raised nearly £150 they were ready to run.

It was a great day, the atmosphere on Newcastle Quayside was fantastic and even I managed to run alongside Eleanor without passing out! The run was followed by a trip to the pasta party. Strange to be eating the carbs after the run... But hey!

Tonight I am relaxing with my vino, and thinking of all the people gearing up for their Great North Run tomorrow. Good luck to every single one of you, I have so much envy as I would love to do it but the thought of running 13miles brings me out in a cold sweat! I think I only just managed 1.5 today!!

Today was especially nice for Jessica, it was her 1st Mini GNR. She was meant to compete last year and the week before she broke her leg badly, a nasty spiral fracture resulting in a full leg cast and being unable to walk, let alone run, for nearly 3months. A year later to see my 5yr old 'back to normal' and manage to run a mile in 8minutes was fantastic.

Anyone wanting to donate to their fund DiabetesUK can do at www.justgiving.com/EleanorJessicaMcnally

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.