RockNerd

By RockNerd

You Absolute Heel!

The Wellington Monument in Hyde Park features a statue of Achilles, by Sir Richard Westmacott, celebrating victory in the Peninsular War.
It was made from melted down enemy cannons, & paid for by the donation of £10,000 from "their countrywomen" to the Duke of Wellington & his army.
Despite the stratigically placed fig leaf, it caused much controvesy when it was, ahem, erected in 1822.
It was lampooned by the caricaturist George Cruikshank in his cartoon Backside & Front View of the Ladies Fancy-Man, Paddy Carey. Where one figure proclaims "See what we Ladies can raise when we wish to put a man in mind of what he has done & we hope will do again when call'd for!!!"
Another asks "Do you think it will stand the Weather?"
The reply:" Bless you it will stand anything; My Eyes what a size!! I see it!"
Others exclaim: "This will be a place of great attraction in the height of the Season."
"You mean the fall of the Leaf I suppose?; I would not give a fig for it!"

(And on that note, I'm of to bed. I'll catch up with you tomorrow!)

Achilles Last Stand

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.