tempus fugit

By ceridwen

'More Meat for Less Bread'

Koch's Deli is a minor Philadelphia legend despite its modest appearance in a quiet street next to the local laundromat. I'd never been inside before and in fact didn't sample its wares on this occasion but their T shirt caught my eye - it's the sort of thing I like to take home for my sons. So I bought one and  got talking with the owner who made me promise to send a picture of it being worn in Wales, to add to their wall of photographs, cards, letters and messages from all over the world. It seems that Koch's is a place that inspires nostalgia, not only for the massive sandwich fillings but also for the long queues leavened by  jokes and free pickle handouts.

The original owner, Bob Koch (pronounced Kotch) started the deli in 1966 with his mother determining the final composition of the sandwiches.  The current owners took over after he died a few years ago and attempt to maintain its reputation as 'the best Jewish deli this side of Brooklyn' but some say that it's not been the same since. What do I know?

(Not sure if it's possible see to the left of the owner's head the notice COMPLAINT DEPT. showing  numbered tickets hanging off a grenade and the words'Take One')

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.