running commentary

By Stesedthat

View from....

Threshthwaite Mouth (should be called Threshthwaite mouthful - cos it is)

Half an hour earlier Windermere was 100% hidden from view my the low lying pockets of mist and an hour later it had all burned off, so this was possibly the optimum time to Blip this particular view.

I have uploaded this to my Flickr page too, where you may be able to see a bit more detail

To be honest if Snappy hadnt kept me well informed as we progressed round various fells today I wouldn't have had much clue where we were. Only one new summit for me but tackled from a completely different direction and starting point was enough to throw the 'map in my mind' off kilter.

Great run - only 90 minutes or so but tremendous variety of terrain underfoot, from steep rocky climbing to boggy grassy descents to hard stoney tracks, and even a river crossing to boot.

The route is part of a team relay event Snappy is doing in a couple of weeks time which is why we ran it today. Apparently his Eden team are tipped for big things!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.