britni

By britni

A Little Taste of Home

I was surprised to see this on my way home from the flea market today. It made me feel a little homesick, but the wonderful Provencal-Umbrisch Market quickly dispersed that feeling.

I woke up early (out of habit, I guess) and looked for a clothes rack at the flea market, but I couldn't find one. Germans generally air-dry their clothes, instead of using the dryer, and they have these large, expandable metal grates in order to avoid all the fuss with clothes pins. I need to get one so I can actually do laundry.

Then I went to the market downtown and just allowed myself to get completely wrapped up in the magical atmosphere. I had a very spicy wurst, which is rare in capsaicin-devoid Germany, and then I indulged in two small French pastries called tourton (one chocolate, one raspberry). I bought some goat's cheese for a wine and cheese party on monday, and some home-grown squash and purple (!) carrots for the barbeque later that night. Oh, and I got some new tights :)

The barbeque was fun, even though it was indoors because of the rain. All of the food was excellent, and the new students are very nice. Mostly I just let the wine talk, so hopefully none of them judge me for that.

More gourds tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.