Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Mellon

We visited the Ulster American Folk Park today, an open air museum which tells how people lived in the 19 century and how & why so many emigrated to North America.
The lady in the picture was baking oat cakes in the house where Thomas Mellon was born. The property is still in it's original place, whereas every other building was brought in from elsewhere.
I've been to a lot of these open air museums; they are a great way of really learning about how people lived at a certain time in history and this one also covers the migration of two million Ulster men, women & children to North America.
I had to rush past a few of the buildings as I'd spent so long chatting with the interpreters as I went on my way. They like to talk, which is part of the fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.