Life is there for living.

By Jumumford

Weekend Munee Challenge... Me? Competitive? No way

Taking geocaching to the next level is a new game called Munzee.

A munzee is a QR code which has been placed on a signpost a tree, building etc. You win points for finding them, as well as points if people find your Munzees.

I challenged a good friend and fellow geocacher @Dazstan to a Munzee challenge, then my hubby upped the challenge to say whoever had the most points by 8pm on Sunday night had to buy a round of Starbucks! Let the fun begin.

Talk about competitive!! Our team were slaughtered by Dazstan on Saturday, but Sunday was a different ball game! At 7.10pm on Sunday evening there was only 5 points in it! We had to change tactics if we was going to win, so Matt searched online for any Gold Munzees in Northamptonshire. (50 points for finding a gold one, 5 points only for a standard one). Luck would have it that there were two in the centre of Northampton.

I drove at top speed to the first one which was located high up in a trolley park in Morrisons, i could only just reach it...,Bingo!!! 50 points :-), then headed off to the hospital for the 2nd Gold one.... BINGO! I had 15 mins left before the deadline and no idea who was winning.

7.50pm... The phone rings. @Dazstan announced that he had 385 points (which was pretty amazing as only 20 mins previously he had 375. I had a big grin on my face as I told him that I'd just nabbed two gold Munzees giving me a grand total of 475!!!

Ironically if the last two were not gold, then it would have been a draw.

A fab weekend. Huge thanks to Dazstan for making it an amazing weekend.

Picture: a really bad munzee that wouldn't scan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.