Ferinus vis quod ignarus

By leecarson

Get set...

So I have returned victorious from the Great North Run 2011 - by victorious I mean that when Kit asked me if I won, I replied "Look, I have a medal!"and left him to make his own mind up :-)

My lasting impressions are...
- If someone asks you "Is the Great North Run hilly?" the answer is "Yes."
- The nice lady who didn't mind when I took nearly all the jelly babies off her tray. It was that, or death.
- The St John's Ambulance service standing by the roadside wearing rubber gloves and holding mounds of Vaseline. Not sure what service they were offering and wasn't brave enough to ask.
- The guy dressed as Hong Kong Phooey who was getting annoyed with people shouting "Come on Scooby!"
- Regretting putting my bag on the top deck of the baggage bus; seemed like a big climb after the race!
- The Red Arrows; always fantastic.
- 5782nd out of 55,000 runners; not my best but still better than most :-)


This will be my WBC entry this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.