Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

James and his long pipe

Back in St Andrews now for 4th year, gulp. I arrived back a two weeks early to get a job and to get ready. I've the job part down. But the not the getting ready part. I haven't been on for a while but have back blipped loads from my travels around Ukraine & Moldova, so feel free to scroll on back if you have some time to waste!

I was on my way to sign up for advising when I saw this chap, with his flat-cap, tweed jacket, jeans and a huge pipe. "Gandalf?! Is that you?". I couldn't not, could I? I wheeled around the construction workers and approached him, rehearsing my introduction in my head. He was immediately pleasant and very obliging, and, as it turned out, very interesting to talk to.

He told me that he had just bought his first digital camera, and then quickly changed the topic to film cameras, and how he had to hide the film from his camera when he was kidnapped by Burmese opium smugglers in South East Asia. He had to conceal it so the evidence wasn't destroyed and he succeeded, eventually having it published through a French photojournalist a few weeks later!! WHAT?! - He trumped any story I could have told him.

We ended up talking for a while and I was informed that it's thanks to one of his distant relatives that we have Bourbon whisky. A guy called Elijah from Kentucky years back.

"Bob's your uncle, Elijah's mine". I'll see him again, I reckon. Since his just started a Divinity course here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.