Clix : Aperture Wide Shut

By clix

Great Ball's Up!

It's been a while since I've seen the ball up on Nelson's Monument up on Calton Hill (and here).

Zipping on the motorbike back from getting my hair cut at Woods when I spotted that the ball was up above Nelson's Monument. Wow, been many a year since I have seen the time ball.

It weighs 762 Kilos! And was damaged by a storm in 2007 before eventually being repaired. Just haven't seen it since it was working again.

Didn't hear the 1 O'Clock gun but did see the ball fall so whoever was holding the lever must have heard the gun go.

The time ball pre-dates the 1 O'Clock gun. The gun, which is a much more famous daily event (except Sundays) from Edinburgh, was only introduced so that ships could get the proper time during fog when they would be unable to see the time ball on Nelson's Monument.

Well, duly shaved about the head and blip in camera I jumped back on the bike and shot back down to Leith for the afternoon's work.

Tootle pip all and I hope blippers everywhere had a fine day. I will try to spend some time this evening to wnader around blip world again and say hi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.