LightWave

By LightWave

Flight

My legs hurt so much from yesterday's cycle ride that I couldn't sleep! So I got up before it was light and went for a walk along the beach, strangely, that did no end of good.

Large flocks of sandpipers gather at this time of year - it's amazing to watch them as they scurry about the beach like little mice, largely oblivious to me. Then without any apparent notice, they take off in unison and fly dramatically off to another bit of shore. They like the washed up seaweed, must be all sorts of little critters hidden in it. It might be nutritious, but it's not particularly photogenic.

I was hoping for a beautiful sunrise, no luck, but instead, about an hour or so after dawn, a magnificent cloudscape evolved. Wished I'd brought my wideangle lens. I actually walked from one end of the beach to the other, and back again today, took about 3 hours with all my stops for pictures.

Spent the rest of the day catching up on my missed sleep. Ah well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.