A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Well I never...

..purple carrots, who knew?

Yet again life has thrown up a blip opportunity just when I was wondering where today's might come from. Better night's sleep and after school drop off headed into town for a meeting during which I managed to ignore the presence of my cold enough to be productive. Quite a relief.

Too much to carry to take my camera and a strong desire to get home before school pick-up meant no pictures in town. But waiting on my doorstep was this week's veg box delivery and voila, inside, these little fellas. Never even heard of them before let alone seen them. Perhaps it's something to do with London Fashion Week and perhaps purple is the new orange (or green, these purple veggies are getting everywhere).

I did peel one to see how far the purple went and I can report they are joyously still purple underneath their peel, though a bite revealed the more familiar orange centre. And, guess what, they taste like carrots. Hope the kids believe me enough to give them a try as they will definitely be on the menu for tea/dinner/supper*

Time for a quick cuppa and blip browse before pick-up.

Lesley x

*delete as appropriate to your cultural background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.