whatever next

As some of you know my kitchen is jinxed. Waiting in for the plumber to call and say he has the parts to hopefully fix the intermittent faults with the boiler so I get on with the housework and start the dishwasher. It's broken. Again. The repair only had a 90 day guarantee and was done back in March. Bother*

*actual language used may have been stronger

So, do I call them out again to fix it which will cost the same as half a new dishwasher or wash by hand for a couple of months and get a new one for Christmas?

I'm seriously thinking of doing the latter. I bought this place with it's so-called newly fitted kitchen and in only 2 years I've needed the electrics made safe (whole house not fire-safe upon inspection) parts for the fridge-freezer, parts for the dishwasher and countless boiler repairs.

The guy I bought the place from took offence to me asking him to help out with costs but I didn't feel it out-of-order considering he blatantly lied when I bought the place. He got his mate to help him do the place up and had no certificates for gas & electrical work.

I've learned a big lesson in getting the expensive survey done if-and-when I move again but I've moved several times and only ever needed to make cosmetic repairs. This has been a nightmare!

Back to the dishwasher. It's a built-in one but the first repair guy I called out daren't touch it as he said it's been fitted so badly he's sure the worktop will collapse if it needs removing to repair! It's plumbed in safely apparently but is wired in to an electrical socket in the cupboard under the sink! I know I'll be looking at more than the cost of a new dishwasher, but, as there has to be a safer way for it to be installed, in the long run I think it's the sane thing to do.

I'm well aware a lot of people aren't even lucky enough to have such an appliance and this is the first one I've owned. But, I do expect things to work!

My blip is part of my old plate drainer I've fetched out of the garage and my favourite 2 plates which are only used for very special guests and/or cake :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.