Economical with the truth!

Continued from yesterday...
Neeta Day 1

Neeta Day 2

This is where we waited. Sitting in my car staring at this.
The sign is a little economical with the truth, on two counts.

I drive past here daily, and still think of that conversation as we sat looking at this sign.
Her understanding was not too bad as long as I kept my questions simple, but her spoken English really was very limited, and her voice was little more than a whisper. I asked a lot of questions, but I think the following summarises her situation.
She had been in England only 4 months, having come over from India for an arranged marriage. She had not met her husband or his family before arriving here. She has no family here in UK. She knew only one lady locally who was helping her to learn English.

We fell into silence as we continued to wait.

"Beat me" She said
"Does your husband beat you?"
"No"
"Who beats you?"
"Mother in law. Sister in law. Slave."
"Do you have any friends in England you can talk to?"
"No."
"What about back in India?"
"No. Family divorce. Not want me."


I phoned you Marge, and just said I'm going to be late, I'll tell you more when I get to you.

She said a word I couldn't make out. She repeated it several times before I realised what she was trying to say.



"Suicide."
My heart sank.

"No, No! It will get better, it will" - I said trying to convince myself as much as her.

A car approached.
I grabbed an old car park ticket lying on the floor and wrote my first name and mobile number on it.

"If things get really bad call me."

The car pulled up, a man got out.

"Where have you been? We've been waiting ages here."
"I went the wrong way." He said

"Your wife has been walking for four hours, did you know she was missing?"
"I thought she had gone shopping."
"For four hours?"
He seemed unconcerned.

"Do you know how unhappy your wife is?" "Please, please look after her."

"Are you sure you want to go with him?" I asked
"Yes."

She got out of my car and into his. They drove off.

I continued my journey to your house and when I started to retell the events, I broke down.
Oh Marge, it makes our own problems seem so trivial doesn't it?" I said as we drank a glass of wine.

You will remember Marge. how we discussed what I should do.

What could I do?
What should I do?

We talked round and round in circles.
I couldn't go and knock on the door and say 'Is she alright?'
My direct intervention could make things worse.

Sometimes lives collide momentarily and you have to move on.

Occasionally I drove past where she lived and wondered what was happening behind that door. It looked the same as any other in the nondescript street.

But I did nothing.....

To be continued.

Neeta Day 3
Neeta Day 4

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.