benek

By benek

Different Names For the Same Thing

It's almost hard to believe this is the same subject from the same vantage point as April 21. Nearly opposite circumstances: High tide, calm water, morning light, cool haze.

For the first time ever I decided to take my pocket cam with me on my run. I hate having anything extra with me, not even a key if I can help it. I could see the haze and the smooth water and I had to take the opportunity to get the morning shot. So I just held the camera case in my hand the whole time (much better than it bouncing around in my pocket). It really wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. I'm glad I did it.

Funnily enough, the one time I'm holding something in my hand while running is also the one time I slip and fall, and don't have proper use of my hands to catch myself. I was jogging down an old boat ramp, which was wet from tide water, camera in one hand, empty case in the other, about ready to stop and take a shot. Slipped on a wet patch and in that slow-mo moment of terror I threw the case out of my left hand so at least I'd have one hand to fall on. Bent my right hand up to protect the camera from direct impact, hit hard on my left knee and my right wrist. The case and camera made it away with just scratches, and I stumbled up with blood dripping down my leg and off of my wrist.

I finished the rest of the run and took a few more pictures looking like I'd just gotten out of a brawl. Had to find some leaves to wipe the blood of my leg a few times so it wouldn't collect in my sock, but it stopped by the time I got home so all was good.

Oh, the things you'll do for blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.