A vague tendency to miss the point

The variations in vinaigrettes that I have made over the years would make interesting reading, well for me at any rate. For anyone else, I fear that they would be a rather dull collection of variations on a theme.

Previously I would swear by red wine vinegar, then it was rapsberry vinegar, then the move to balsmic and now it is currently white wine vinegar. As for the oils used, the percentage breakdown of the last year would be Olive oil 65%, sunflower 20%, walnut oil 10%, hazelnut 5%. If I got into the different varieties of olive oil you would get a good idea of how important a good vinaigrette is.

An old acquaintance showed me how to make several vinaigrettes over 20 years ago. I still remember the salads he made me, as the only vegetarian in the hotel where I was working, I was lucky to have several people cook for me.

Anyway, tonight it was as follows.

olive oil four table spoons
white wine vinegar 1/2 table spoon
salt pepper


with green rather bitter Romaine and some manchego, it still made for a bit of summer as the gales howled today, well the sun came out this evening.

11°

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.