Pied Shag Nestling

Scientific Name: Phalacrocorax varius
Maori Name: Karuhinuhi
Also known as: Cormorant

Mum and I popped in to see the Pied Shag family on our way home from grocery shopping. There have been changes.

Both adults are now leaving the nestlings for a short period of time, perhaps 15-20mins to find food for these growing chicks, which are becoming stronger by the day and so active. The food being sourced are fish and crustaceans e.g. shrimps, crabs, lobsters, crayfish along  with new growth from trees such as willows.

According to research I have found the nestlings do not fledge until 50 days after they have hatched. This seems like a very long time and I'm finding hard to believe. The family I have been following hatched about 11 September meaning they won't fledge until 1 Novemeber but look at the size of them and having three this size in the nest for this length of time just makes me wonder - I will watch in anticipation.

This one flexing its wings is the eldest, the one that is fed first and quite contented after being fed. His/her feathers are starting to form on the wings but its torso is still very downy when comparing to the adult on the other side of the nest.

The adults today were spending some time on the outer branches of the tree rather than on the nest giving the nestlings more room. The youngest and middle chicks were stretching their long necks out to the adult and would peck the adult all over until they were fed. It got a little rough for the adult and they would move further away. The youngest is quite a lot smaller than the other two and has always got its head up looking for food. Their little noises are getting stronger and much louder and they don't ever seem to settle down for a sleep - poor parents!!

I'm glad you all enjoyed yesterday's Whitebait poem and image, thanks for your lovely words, hearts and stars, it made it to the spotlight page - Thank you.

I was really tired last night and didn't finish my comments but hope tonight I'll be able to catch up. Nearly tea time here so I'd better fly - catch you soon :)

Try in large :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.