The long journey

By thelongjourney

That sugary smell...

On my way back from work, Lucy and I stopped at the bottom of the gorge to enjoy some fresh air, have a little walk and take some pictures. It had just stopped raining, the grass was wet and emanating that very distinctive sugary smell....the perfect way to de-stress after work! All this reminded me of "We looked like giants" of my favourite songs by Death Cab for Cutie (also since I just got their new album...yay!!!)

It's friday tomorrow, and I'm off to Italy for the weekend to spend some quality time with my family and my dogs and my lovely cat..I've been missing them heaps recently. Hopefully I will get to enjoy some sunshine too (which has suddenly disappeared from England after a gorgeous couple of days...I guess our little summer is over!!!)

Have a fantastic weekend!!!

Chris


"God bless the daylight, the sugary smell of springtime
Remembering when you were mine
In a still suburban town

When every thursday I'd brave those mountain passes
And you'd skip your early classes
And we'd learn how our bodies worked.

And together there
In a shroud of frost, the mountain air
Began to pass from every pane of weathered glass
And I held you closer than anyone would ever get"

We looked like giants - Death Cab for Cutie


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.