A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Hilda, What ARE You Doing?

The hens are fine, thanks for asking. The girls are still delivering a healthy quantity of delicious eggs for us and our friends. Although it seems they might slow down for winter, which is expected. I'm not at all looking forward to 'farming chores' through another long, brutal Chicago winter though. Not. At. All. In fact, the idea of winter looming ahead brings me very little pleasure, with two tiny exceptions: wearing comfy, bulky clothes and knitting in front of a warm fire in the evenings. I do love experiencing four seasons. It is cyclical and reminds me of how life is that too. Having Dad here with me and seeing him discover the seasonal changes is another reminder of what it was like living in southern California (for me and him). No changes, no seasons, always sunny and warm, day in and day out. Oh sure, I see the ridiculousness of my thinking. But I'm sticking with it. I am happy to be where I am. Stinkin' happy.

Note: This is a place where you can actually see the grass grow in the short summer months. And for someone who wants to be a pasture farmer (when I grow up), this is a good thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.