Still Alive

By rinkkasatiainen

Carséjohka river. From above

Breakfast at Sodankylä. Hanging around with the fellow hikers on the driving the little bus.

Still long drive from Sodankylä to Utsjoki (or Patoniva to be exact). I started to have the 'normal' pre-hike feelings. Namely 'What am I doing here?' and 'Why am I not at home?'

At Patoniva around 1:30pm. One hour for changing gear, filling water bottles, taking group pictures etc. Then we started our journey.

Later a friend of mine thanked me for us being the last group to leave the bus. "Did it just happen, or was it intentional?" I'd presume both. I never want to be the first and I really want to give a relaxed journey from the beginning.

The day was easy - only about 4km to the banks for Carsejohka river. We had planned to cross it, but the water flow was a bit too much for the first day. Decided to call it a day and enjoy the night at the bank of the beautiful river.

We have arrived.

Didn't sleep much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.