creative lenna

By creativelenna

Lizard Man

My husband carved a lizard out of Brazilian ebony wood that my dad had given him. Steven started by drawing on the piece of ebony. We have many anole lizards around here for inspiration. He used a band saw to rough-cut the shape and glued it to a block of cedar. Then Steven used an older dremel tool of my dad's that was a kit with about 30 bits to do the small cuts. You can see a close-up view of the lizard and Steven's carving here.

We showed it to my dad yesterday when visiting him. He has been my husband's mentor and of course he had a few good comments. Unfortunately, my dad is not that well these days but looked a little better when we saw him yesterday afternoon. If I am scarce here, this is why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.