Toots in the Cameo Pose

Tots called me earlier this week to say she had been scouted by a modelling agency and would I take a couple of snaps of her to send off. I haven't seen much of Toots in recent years but that was not always the case. When she was tiny and my husband and I were courting we spent most weekends at her family's Dorset estate. Her mother was struggling with her three tiny siblings which meant that I often had Toots to myself. She was an incredibly precocious and wise little person. Very interested in all matters romantic. We would go for long walks, her plump little hand in mine and she would grill me about my love life.

"Jewels do you and Alex kiss a lot?'

"I guess we do kiss a fair bit'

'Is it delightful?'

"yes it is rather nice.'

'How nice?'

'It's lovely, Toots, yes delightful.'

'As delightful as holding a kitten?'

'Yes, definitely. Maybe even better.'

'I think I shall like kissing quite a lot'

We had a laugh about that one today.

Toots is in her final year of university. She is doing a degree in Arabic studies and hope to be a war correspondent. That made my tummy lurch just a bit. Although this young woman can definitely take care of herself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.