earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Equinox Duck

Oh no! There is a famous old saying up here in the Yorkshire Dales ...

When at equinox appeareth the duck
The cometh winter shall royally suck


I think we're in for another cold one folks. Bad news for commuters, but great news for blippers!

It seems only fitting that today's blip should be of the sunrise to match yesterday's sunset at the time of the Autumnal Equinox. Everywhere throughout the world right now the day and night are of more or less equal length. Last night's shot was taken just before 7pm. This was taken just after 7am. I had no plan to blip the sunrise this morning. I looked at the weather forecast last night and it suggested an overcast morning. Thinking that there would be no sun on the moor first thing I turned off my body alarm clock with the intention of sleeping in. But somehow I awoke out of a dead sleep just at the very perfect moment. I sat up, saw the tint of the sky and immediately grabbed the camera.

Today's blip was in the bag literally less than 30 seconds after being stone cold fast asleep in bed! But how did that work? It really is quite uncanny! It wasn't as if there was a blaze of light entering the room. I couldn't see the sunrise from where I was sleeping. It was only evident once I had got up from bed. What weird sense jolted me awake so abruptly at that precise time! I sleep like the proverbial log ... especially after being quite short on slumber this week. Anyone else with similar experiences? I do feel like I'm highly attuned to the universe right now. It's rather wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.