OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Toward Marwick Head

Seconds after taking this I was soaked to the waist as I underestimated the speed and force of the next wave. I was actually sitting on a flat rock and wondering if I should wait for the sun to break through the clouds a little when I realized that the sound of the sea was closer than expected. Cue a very wet end to the walk.

I'd started at The Loons hide. There was news of a very rare bird there, but I'd planned to go there before hearing and didn't see it, although there were lots there including a hen harrier. I walked to the shore at Mar Wick and along to the old fishermen's huts at Sand Geo, a favourite place to make coffee, then back, along The Choin and up the cliff path to Marwick Head. Rounding the Kitchener Memorial I was really surprised to see a great spotted woodpecker- the first I've seen here. Then the rare bird that I'd heard of appeared over the Head- a pallid harrier- appeared. Only about one is seen every three years in the UK. So a soaking later didn't dampen my spirits, only everything else.

A couple more shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.