send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

ladybird on corn leaf

Today marked the end of my first month with the Tamron 18-270. It?s been a real eye-opener, and I?m starting to look for things to photograph wherever I go. I?m becoming aware of the limits of the lens, which in turn is forcing me to find creative ways to overcome those limits. This is great, as it?s reminding me why I fell in love with photography in the first place.
I bought my first SLR with the specific intention of fitting it with a macro lens. This took me a while to save up for, which meant that I had to push the boundaries a little further to get the best from more modest equipment. I think this shot is a good example of that. I couldn?t possibly get any closer with this lens than I have here (although you can still see the hooked toes of the beetle). When you can?t fill the space with your subject, you have to find ways to use the surrounding areas. Here, the greenery provides a contrasting backdrop, whilst the leaf central vein creates a leading line. Simple, but effective.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm @ 270mm; ISO 500; F/6.3; 1/400 second. VC on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.