the colour green

By jukeys

going, going, gone

Went to see the Sighthill flats being blown up this morning. Felt like a very weird thing to do and I have to say I was slightly nervous beforehand. There were loads of people there and I think everyone was on tenterhooks.

A few people had said to me about being from Northern Ireland and explosions etc. Yes, how I laughed! haha. But, honestly, I think I did feel some residual fear and uneasiness about hearing an explosion. I only remember it once from home. I was in the house with my mum, she was in the living room and I was in the kitchen. We heard this almighty boom and both met in the hallway wondering what the hell had just happened. We ran out into the front garden and could hear the debris falling to the ground. The bomb sounded like it had gone off just around the corner. The truth is, it was a few miles from our house - they'd blown up a massive forensics building.

Obviously today's actions were not carried out maliciously - far from it - hopefully that part of Edinburgh will become an area of regeneration with new housing and great opportunities for the people that live there. Luckily, that's what seems to be happening in Northern Ireland too.

Let's hope it stays that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.