Buckley Hughes World

By buckleyhughes

they never taught me this at school

So, this evening I have been attempting to do a little homework. I am trying to learn about compound depreciation, because I need to use it in some spreadsheets at work. I'm no mathematician, and it's over 20 years since I scraped through my GCSE. But I think I have a handle on it now:

If I have £100 now, and I have 5% depreciation, after 1 year it will be worth £95. Then in year 2 it will be worth 95% of £95 (£90.25). And in year 3 it will be worth 95% of £90.25 (£85.73) and so on.

I asked my dad about it, because that's what you do. And he told me about compound interest, which is what this photo is of - my notes from our conversation.

I hope that a) I remember how this works, and b) my assumption that compound depreciation works the same way in principle as compound interest is correct!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.